Insecurity

On the drive down to the Seattle Airport, I began reading The Crime of Living CAUTIOUSLY, and I announced to my husband my readings could be intense for us. My eldest daughter inquired why, and I explained I am less risk averse than her father. While she could see it, he just smiled. I felt emboldened by Luci Shaw.

Later I had to laugh at myself. While Craig is indeed more cautious than I am, in the last year he has stepped down from a job he loved, had a stable income, and was respected, to begin a church in a place with a long history of failed church plants. When he initially said yes to God, we had no idea where income would come from. As well, in the last year we have accepted a proposal to adopt a little girl and have visited her in a country on travel advisory lists. So while other day in day out choices, may be carefully considered, Craig boldly follows where God leads.

“Security is mostly superstition. Id does not exist in nature, nor do the children of men as a whole experience it. Avoiding Danger is no safer in the long run than outright exposure. Life is either daring adventure, or nothing.”
– Helen Keller as found in Luci Shaw’s The Crime of Living Cautiously

One thought on “Insecurity

Leave a Reply

