Living my first choice

When my oldest was a baby, I realized that I was living my first choice (staying home with my baby), but I was still grieving my second and third choices.   Talk about ingratitude on my part!   More than just this special of season of life there are other times I have missed out enjoying my current reality because I am wondering about the next step or feeling I am missing out on what I said no to.

Somehow the either or-ness that prevails in North American thought life sneaks back in, even when I try to live both/and.  I have been happy both in my hometown and in Vancouver.  I love both chocolate and vanilla.  It is a privilege being a full time parent and working with students with learning disabilities full-time.  (Just an aside:  just because a certain number of my hours are in another location, I haven’t ceased being a parent.)  Both summer and winter have beauty and challenges.   Today I choose to enjoy the moment that has been given to me.

1 There is a time for everything,
and a season for every activity under the heavens:

2 a time to be born and a time to die,
a time to plant and a time to uproot,
3 a time to kill and a time to heal,
a time to tear down and a time to build,
4 a time to weep and a time to laugh,
a time to mourn and a time to dance,
5 a time to scatter stones and a time to gather them,
a time to embrace and a time to refrain from embracing,
6 a time to search and a time to give up,
a time to keep and a time to throw away,
7 a time to tear and a time to mend,
a time to be silent and a time to speak,
8 a time to love and a time to hate,
a time for war and a time for peace.

9 What do workers gain from their toil? 10 I have seen the burden God has laid on the human race. 11 He has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the human heart; yet[a] no one can fathom what God has done from beginning to end. 12 I know that there is nothing better for people than to be happy and to do good while they live. 13That each of them may eat and drink, and find satisfaction in all their toil—this is the gift of God. 14 I know that everything God does will endure forever; nothing can be added to it and nothing taken from it. God does it so that people will fear him.  Ecclesiastes 3:1-14

One thought on “Living my first choice

  1. Thank you for this reminder about fully inhabiting our current call and choice. Too often my mind races ahead to all the other things I could or should be doing. The gift of doing “one thing” is one I don’t accept as readily or frequently as I should.

    Blessings,

    John Fenner
    Director of Courage & Renewal Programs for Clergy and Congregational Leaders
    http://www.couragerenewal.org/clergy

    Like

Leave a Reply

