Drudgery

“Drudgery is work that is very far removed from anything to do with the ideal – the utterly mean grubby things; and when we come in contact with them we know instantly whether or not we are spiritually real.”  See Jesus washing the disciples feet.  – Oswald Chambers in My Utmost for His Highest.

For years I had a Burundian silhouette of a woman carrying a basket on her head.  I placed it where I could see it while I washed dishes, one of my least favourite chores because it is a bottomless pit at my house.  I had read of Brother Lawrence’s delighting in God’s presence as he peeled potatoes; I was well taught in servanthood, but somehow overtime the image of the woman carrying her work on her head gave practical immediate correction to my thinking.  She eventually fell off the wall and broke, but not before doing good work in my heart.

While in Haiti last year, I was moved by the industry of the people.  Streets filled with workers at 6:30 in the morning, many people carrying their corner store on their heads. As I tackle mundane chores, the presence of Christ can be as tangible as when I do something far more “spiritual,” but my attitude can crowd out His delightful presence or invite more intimacy.  What will I choose after supper today?

One thought on “Drudgery

  1. I recall reading that recently in “My Utmost…” – Oswald regularly reminds me of this, but somehow (like so many other things…) it is tough to get through my head 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

