Cesar Chavez

If you have been following the blog to hear about our adoption, there will be more of that!  But I initially started this blog as a way to keep up with quotes or musings.  I have also found that I need to keep my brain busy if I want to live contentedly.  So we have settled into enough of a rhythm that I’m finding snippets of time to read more than Brown Bear , Brown Bear What Do You See?  So all of that to say this has nothing to do with adoption but maybe the teaching by Christ has everything to do with the values behind out decision to adopt.

“When we are really honest with ourselves, we must admit that our lives are all that really  belong to us.  So it is how we use our lives that determines what kind of men we are.  It is my deepest belief that only by giving our lives do we find life.  I am convinced that the truest act of courage, the strongest act of manliness is to sacrifice ourselves for others in totally nonviolent struggle for justice.  To be a man is to suffer for others.  God help us to be men!”  –  Cesar Chavez

In Chavez’ quote I hear echos of Christ’s teaching.

24 Then Jesus said to his disciples, “Whoever wants to be my disciple must deny themselves and take up their cross and follow me.(AD) 25 For whoever wants to save their life[f] will lose it, but whoever loses their life for me will find it.(AE) 26 What good will it be for someone to gain the whole world, yet forfeit their soul? Or what can anyone give in exchange for their soul?   –  Jesus Matthew 16:24-26

Leave a Reply

