School

Return to school evokes many emotions around our home.  While all four children are incredibly curious by nature, the varying experiences and learning needs create wariness of the institution.  (Mamaspeak for when you are dyslexic, school, even a great school that teaches for your learning needs, still takes the wind out of you.)

Who will be in my class?  Who will be my teacher?  Will I get in trouble in the first week?  How much homework?  Do I have the right clothes?  (Ok, only one child worries about that.)

As siblings headed to school, Mica asked during the day where are they.  And then she went to preschool.  More accurately, we went to preschool.  The toys drew her immediately in, and then the teacher guided her to other activity centres around the room.    Periodically she would check in with me, and then I said, “Mommy will go.” She repeated, and then we sang the same tune in French, and I went.  Actually I walked out of the class, waited, listened, and then left.  When I came back an hour later, she was joyfully playing outside.

Once in the car the chatter began.  “Mama, two Calebs!    Mica play basketball!  Mica do that!  Snack – Mica no like crackers.  Mama, Mica backpack!  Mama, Mica fini school?  Ok, Ok Monday!”

In the middle of the prattle and the joy, a precious request.  The first time she has asked for something outside the home to be provided, expecting her needs to be met.

“Mica, do you want a backpack?”

“Yes, Yes, snack!  Kids do that.”

So Mikayla, Mica, and I went school supply shopping, and she got her beautiful backpack.  Anyone who has stopped by the house has to see it.  She loves putting it on her back, and then she takes it off to model what the other children have done.

Now all of our children ask for things, but this was Mica’s first time asking, expecting to have her needs met.  I delighted in her assuming what she needs will be provided.  Her assuming her daughtership causes celebration.

Then the thought hit me, oh, this is how the Heavenly Father feels when I step into my daughtership with him and trust Him to provide what I need.

In Grades 4-6 I participated in Bible Drill; my mama’s best friend, Beverly, trained me how to memorize Scripture and quizzed me for accuracy.  Billy Abbey found a rhythmic way to say:

Ask and shall be given to you,

Seek and you shall find,

Knock and the door will be opened to you.

Luke 11:9

Grateful for a good start to school, thankful for a child asking for what she needs, blessed in the Father’s provision for all of us.

 

 (H)“Ask, (I)and it will be given to you; (J)seek, and you will find; (K)knock, and it will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives, and the one who seeks finds, and to the one who knocks it will be opened. Or which one of you, if his son asks him for (L)bread, will give him (M)a stone? 10 Or if he asks for a fish, will give him a serpent? 11 If you then,(N)who are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will (O)your Father who is in heaven give good things to those who ask him!  Matthew 7:7-11

2 thoughts on “School

  1. Oh, Ellen, I love reading your posts of Mica’s assimilation into your family, a grafting into the family, as it were. Umm, another scripture comes to mind for that mental image. The Bible Drill was a special time for me — I still remember Luke 11:9 because of Billy’s rhythmic cadence. I cannot wait to put my arms around sweet Mica when you get here. Give my love to all your family, but give a special hug to Mica for me, and tell her I am praying for her as she learns many new things in school this year.

    Love you,

    Bev

    Like

Leave a Reply

