Heroes

Nelson Mandela has long been an afar hero. How could he not be? Very few humans navigate the
pain of decades of unjust imprisonment with grace, truth, forgiveness, and hope.

But for whatever reason, I have never read any of his writings or even the details around his trial until today. What a privilege to discuss Mandela’s choice to continue the call for justice rather than solely defend himself from accusations that could have resulted in the death penalty. The

Good character. Excellent orator. Beautiful human.

Ended his speech speech,

“During my lifetime I have dedicated myself to this struggle of the African people. I have fought against white domination, and I have fought against black domination. I have cherished the ideal of a democratic and free society in which all persons live together in harmony and with equal opportunities. It is an ideal which I hope to live for and to achieve. But if needs be, it is an ideal for which I am prepared to die.” Nelson Mandela

trial

Leave a Reply

