Earthquake drills

Tomorrow, October 17, will be ShakeOut BC where people worldwide practice earthquake drills.  Two years ago I remember tearing up as my school ran the drill.  I thought of my little girl in Haiti, wishing her home, pondering the Haitian earthquake that will be a life marker for a generation of Haitians.

Now she is here.  Tomorrow she will have a drill at school, so I mentioned the drill to her tonight.

After a litany of why questions where we covered preparedness and shifting plates and what the drill position, she said she was scared.  She can’t remember in words, but she remembers sensations.  I affirmed she will be safe; it’s just practice.  Listen to Madame Louise; she will know how to practice.  And remember Jesus is with you.  My girl has already seen that people who love can’t always protect, so I have to send her to the One she may not always comprehend but who will always be with her and always love her.

When I am afraid,
    I put my trust in you.
4 In God, whose word I praise,
    in God I trust; I shall not be afraid.
    What can flesh do to me?

Psalm 56:3-4

This passage is linked to a beautiful song that’s heart calming.  May her heart and my heart and your heart be directed into the safest of places, Jesus’ loving, knowing, strong arms.

Leave a Reply

