“Artisans of peace”

Artisans of peace.”

What comes to mind?
For me my mind’s eye sees pottery, a careful listener, blues and greens, nature, hands held, firm no, ocean, full dinner table, dancing.
The words so charmed me that I google imaged them and found more delight.

20131117-142836.jpg

The image comes from this blog.

So when I went looking for a picture, I skimmed the blog, and I learned that the French version of the Beatitude

Blessed are the peacemakers, for they will be called children of God (Matthew 5:9) says “blessed are the artisans of peace . . . “. Excited I looked at my Spanish Bible. It has blessed are the workers of peace.

Only as an adult have I grabbed hold of the fact that peace is so much more than the absence of conflict. I had a professor who reminded us that shalom peace is the wholeness of life when God’s Kingdom comes. As His rule and reign expands, internal integrity and communal wholeness bring peace. I have met people getting master’s degrees in peace and reconciliation, been inspired by youth calling their community to address injustice with peace, and written politicians letters requesting they get top notch peace advisors not just military/ defence advisors. So I sort of got the work part of peace, but the idea of artistry, beauty in creating peace inspires me.

In Community and Growth, Jean Vanier notes,

“But communities must be led with wisdom. Young people need help in order to integrate the vision into their own hearts and minds and to develop their own inner freedom and choices, learning little by little to be led inwardly by love, rather than from the outside, by rigid laws. They must be led to true community where they can become men and women of prayer and compassion, open to others and to the world, particularly to the poor oppressed, the lost, and the vulnerable, and thus become artisans of peace.” (p. 5)

This week I’m keeping my eyes open for the artistry, the beauty of peace making. Let me know if you see some.

17 But the wisdom that comes from heaven is first of all pure; then peace-loving, considerate, submissive, full of mercy and good fruit, impartial and sincere. 18 Peacemakers who sow in peace reap a harvest of righteousness. James 3:17-18

.

Leave a Reply

