Parenting Freedom

As I finish up Brene Brown’s Daring Greatly, I am thankful for her fleshing out of the powerful ideas I encountered on her TEDTalks. Examples and stories alway help me. Well worded phrases please me and help me grab hold of concepts. This quote:

20131122-093121.jpg

From Daring Greatly p. 216

Delights, invigorates, hopes me!

When I lose patience, scream, parent less well than I wish, it’s still not the sum total of how I live or love them.
When I learn things or grow or change my mind, I don’t have to grieve that I didn’t know earlier.
When my kids needs exceed what I can give, I may have to trouble shoot, but the current situation is not my whole life with them.
When I’m just too tired to dance, play, it’s ok for today.

Grace for the moment. Hope for the overall.

Time to realign with a clean heart and a well lived life rather than bogging down in the details where I keep stumbling.

1 Samuel 16:7
But the Lord said to Samuel, “Do not look on his appearance or on the height of his stature, because I have rejected him. For the Lord sees not as man sees: man looks on the outward appearance, but the Lord looks on the heart.”

Leave a Reply

