Staying . . .

20140328-134910.jpg

As our family headed home from church, Mikayla and Mica planned to take a walk. Mica commented, “We need to stay our jackets on.”

I like the turn of phrase, so I have been thinking what else do I need to stay on.

We need to stay our love on.

We need to stay our faith on.

We need to stay our hope on.

We need to stay our peace on.

We need to stay our joy on.

You see I can walk around with my love on – knowing I am profoundly loved and deeply loving others. Then I settle into comfort or familiarity, and when I look up, I have taken off what was already there.  Ignored how much I need the love, the faith, the hope, the peace, the joy, and it seems harder to put it back on.

Mica knew that if they got inside and got comfy, the walk might not happen, so she declared we need to stay our jackets on.

I need to stay my love on or I might get comfy in my selfishness.
I need to stay my faith on, or I might get cozy with my doubts.
I need to stay my hope on, or I might just sit down and spend the day with despair.
I need to stay my peace on because angst and conflict are always happy to hangout and keep peace out in the cold
And I need to keep my joy on, or I might get inside pain and not have the gumption to get back out.

14 For this reason I bow my knees before the Father, 15 from whom every family3 in heaven and on earth is named, 16 that according to the riches of his glory he may grant you to be strengthened with power through his Spirit in your inner being, 17 so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith—that you, being rooted and grounded in love, 18 may have strength to comprehend with all the saints what is the breadth and length and height and depth, 19 and to know the love of Christ that surpasses knowledge, that you may be filled with all the fullness of God.
20 Now to him who is able to do far more abundantly than all that we ask or think, according to the power at work within us, 21 to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, forever and ever. Amen.

Ephesians 3:14-21

4 Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say, rejoice. 5 Let your reasonableness be known to everyone. The Lord is at hand; 6 do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. 7 And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

8 Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things. 9 What you have learned and received and heard and seen in me—practice these things, and the God of peace will be with you. Philippians 4:4-9

Leave a Reply

