Returning to rest

Return, O my soul, to your rest;
for the LORD has dealt bountifully with you. Psalm 116:7

Capture my heart, these words did!

A friend and I were talking about camping, and he said, “I actually don’t get camping. I like hiking, spending the day in nature, but humans have evolved from a nomadic way of life. Why go back? ” While I like camping, my friend’s observation fits this Scripture. If you have a comfortable home, bed, life, why sleep on the ground? When our spirit has been granted a peace that passes understanding, our heart has been given unconditional love, and we know the one who understands the allusively unresolvables of our lives and can settle them, why not notice His abundant provision and return to rest.

20140717-130700-47220779.jpg

Photo by Nathaniel O’Brien

Now I know returning to rest has not always been this easy for me, but I like the call.

Leave a Reply

