Clutter re considered

In the spectrum of clutter free, minimalist living and collecting, gathering, busy environment my family covers a wide range of the spectrum.

Values
Aesthetics
Creative endeavours
Sentiment
Fears
Attachments
Sense of provision

All differ, so our sense of what to keep, give, bring, avoid, share, hold onto differ as well. Not always, but in general I want to try and respect where each person is in their purging/hoarding perceptions. This remains home to all of us, so each person’s nest needs to reflect their sensibilities. The challenge is the result isn’t always what I want, and I can get frustrated by the clutter and chaos.

While reading one of my Christmas books

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/6f6/25862784/files/2015/01/img_5926.jpg

I had a fresh perspective. While regular ordering is necessary; it’s just the expected thorns and thistles of life, I can understand what it means differently.

The chapter on finances has several more major and practical points, but little bits sent my mind whirring.

“Bring the whole tithe (a full 10 percent) into the storehouse, that there may be food in my house. Test me in this,” says the Lord Almighty, “and see if I will not throw open the floodgates of heaven and pour out so much blessing that there will not be room enough to store it.” Malachi 3:10

I learned this verse as a child, and I’ve noticed the truth in general. But I’ve never applied the ongoing need to purge as evidence of blessings poured out past capacity to store it. So now gratitude seems to most appropriate response to the need to clean out.

Leave a Reply

