Where am I looking?

When I look on my family, I’m emotionally all over the place, mercurial changes in seconds.

When I gaze at the house, I’m physically all over the place trying to clean, tidy, improve – quickly giving up and saying what’s the use.

When I focus on work, I have a million ideas and frustration that they can’t all be implemented right now.

When I fix on the future, I dream grandiosely which leads to sure disappointment, or I despair at alwayses and nevers.

photo.JPG

When I       turn my eyes on Jesus

fix my eyes on the Author and Perfector of my faith,

behold the One who comes in might,

gaze on the beauty of the Lord,

consider what great things He has done for me,

look to my Maker,

stand before God’s throne in awe of Him,

my emotions calm. He is in control, and He is good, incomprehensible but good.

My responsibilities, time, possessions become more rightly ordered in importance because He holds eternity in His hands.

My desires and dreams become sources of hope rather than dread or disappointment. He longs to give the desires of my heart and to heal my heart where desires are a broken kind.

Today I will walk around gazing on the beauty of the Lord. It will be a better day because I won’t be squirreling after every emotion that flitters across my path.

 

“Never has it been so easy to live in half a dozen harmless worlds at once — art, music, social science, games, motoring, the following of some profession, and so on. And between them we run the risk of drifting about, the good hiding the best.” It is easy to find out whether our lives are focused, and if so, where the focus lies. Where do our thoughts settle when consciousness comes back in the morning? Where do they swing back when the pressure is off during the day? Dare to have it out with God, and ask Him to show you whether or not all is focused on Christ and His Glory. Turn your soul’s vision to Jesus, and look and look at Him, and a strange dimness will come over all that is apart from Him.”
– Lilias Trotter

quote from http://www.sharefaith.com/guide/Christian-Music/hymns-the-songs-and-the-stories/turn-your-eyes-upon-jesus-the-song-and-the-story.html

 

Leave a Reply

