Listening to fear or seeing hope

Yesterday I observed that it takes courage to live into a new reality even far simpler realities than resurrected teachers.

Recently, I had trouble mustering courage for daily life. A situation surprised me and the implications grieved and terrified me, but in reality it is far less challenging than death. During this time, friends encouraged, and a student, who was unaware of my struggles, read her novel. We always read the last ten minutes of her lesson. When we reached this point in the story,

“Lucy,” said Susan in a very small voice.

“Yes?” said Lucy.

“I see him now. I’m sorry.”

“That’s all right.”

“But I’ve been far worse than you know. I really believed it was him – he, I mean – yesterday. When he warned us not to go down to the fir wood. And I really believed it was him tonight, when you woke us up. I mean, deep down inside.

Or I could have, if I’d let myself. But I just wanted to get out of the woods and – and – oh, I don’t know. And what ever am I to say to him?”

“Perhaps you won’t need to say much,” suggested Lucy.

(The Children meet Aslan at the table where he was tied down and killed. Everyone spoke to Aslan, but Susan and the dwarf “shrank back.”)

Then after an awful pause, the deep voice said, Susan.” Susan made no answer but the others thought she was crying. “You have listened to fears, child,” said Aslan. “Come, let me breathe on you. Forget them. Are you brave again?”

C. S. Lewis Prince Caspian, p. 152-154

I worked hard to not tear up and realized I was listening to fears in my own life.

  • Fears that new realities in my life required more of me than I have.
  • Fears that new realities hinder the reality I want and imagine.
  • Fears that new realities will leave me alone.

When Jesus gave His beautiful teaching about not worrying, He ended with:

Therefore do not be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious for itself. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble. Matthew 6:34

Well, all I’ve been able to say to this verse for a few months is TRUE THAT!

Today’s trouble, gets God’s grace for today, and I’ve walked it. But when I start imagining what it means for tomorrow, next month, next year, well that’s when I’m actually overwhelmed. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble!

Living into a different reality than the one right before me requires that I live in a resurrection reality. That I may not see where the road is going, but I trust the One who walks with me and guides me; He is good and powerful.20131207-162619.jpg

Craig and I remind each other that if Jesus could come back to life, then this __________ (whatever this is at the moment) is nothin’ for Him!

For this reason, because I have heard of your faith in the Lord Jesus and your love6 toward all the saints, 16 I do not cease to give thanks for you, remembering you in my prayers,

  • 17 that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of glory, may give you the Spirit of wisdom and of revelation in the knowledge of him,
  • 18 having the eyes of your hearts enlightened,
  • that you may know
    • what is the hope to which he has called you,
    • what are the riches of his glorious inheritance in the saints, 19 and
    • what is the immeasurable greatness of his power toward us who believe, according to the working of his great might 20 that he worked in Christ when he raised him from the dead and seated him at his right hand in the heavenly places, 21 far above all rule and authority and power and dominion, and above every name that is named, not only in this age but also in the one to come. 22 And he put all things under his feet and gave him as head over all things to the church, 23 which is his body, the fullness of him who fills all in all. Ephesians 1:15-23

When the Spirit enlightens our hearts we understand our hope and blessings are derived from Christ’s resurrection power, and that’s some reliable power. Rather than listening to fear, we can see hope, riches, and his great power exerted for us.

Leave a Reply

